Runway Recap: Jenni Kayne F/W 10, New York

I’ll admit, I don’t know much about Jenni Kayne. I know she used to show in Los Angeles and it definitely shows. There is always a part of California that stays with a person when they move. I know this from experience. But after reading a little bit of her biography, apparently she has been showing in New York for more than a couple seasons now. And hey, little trivia fact, she was only nineteen when she made her first collection. That’s more than I can say for myself and I’m closing in on twenty-one.

Now I may be a bit biased when I say what I think about the line, especially with an Olsens reference, but c’mon, you cannot deny the fact that this looks like a completely mixture between Ashley’s and Mary-Kate’s personal styles. I always figured Ashley to have straighter lines, sharp edges in her style. She reminds me of the perfect person to fit the ideal YSL cigarette suit. Kanye’s trousers seem to fit that silhouette as well, straight-legged and cigarette. Then Mary-Kate comes in to the picture because of her recent resurrection of the Lennon sunglasses and the use of feathers and subtle details that always seem to stand out. Not to mention, MK has always been a supporter of Kanye’s clothes.

Overall, there is nothing new, nothing bad, nothing great. I would have liked to see a few more dresses, despite that this is a fall/winter line. She included a bright blue dress in the collection that I really could have done without all together, the same goes for the geek glasses. Cute but unimpressive.

Jenni Kayne F/W 09.10 New York

Leave a Reply

